One Summer in Paris by Sarah Morgan

One Summer is Paris tells the story of two women, Grace and Audrey. Grace’s husband has just announced that he wants a divorce, and she must take the trip to Paris she planned for their twenty-fifth anniversary by herself. Meanwhile, Audrey, an English girl, wants to get away from her difficult home life by spending a summer working at a book shop in France (though she hates reading). When an unfortunate incident causes the two to meet, they become friends.

I really enjoyed this book. It was a fun vacation story, but it had darker moments and a lot of great lessons to learn about discovering yourself and successful relationships. The characters were able to grow so much and become amazing, kind, and independent people. Though a little predictable, it was a captivating storyline with very fun, relateable characters and a dash of romance and humor. Overall, a fantastic book.

Thank you to NetGalley, Sarah Morgan, and the publishes for providing me with a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

xoxo,

Adeline

The East End by Jason Allen

9780778308393_rhc_prd-24 stars. The East End centers around two families living in the Hamptons. Corey, a working-class teenager about to leave for college, spends his summer breaking into local mansions. One night, he breaks into the Sheffield estate, where he and his mother work. At the same time, a poolside accident is occurring with Mr. Sheffield and his lover. Unfortunately, Corey saw what happened.

The book is both thrilling and heartbreaking. It’s a crazy series of events over just a couple days, filled with threats, incorrect assumptions, and many story lines. The explosive climax was very interesting, but it came really fast, leaving a couple of threads untied. I did love most of the characterization- all of the people had such compelling backstories and motivations for doing things-, and the imagery Jason Allen used to describe the settings. The East End painted a beautiful picture of the reality of socioeconomic disparity, with memorable characters and a remarkable story line.

Thank you to Harper Collins, NetGalley, and Jason Allen for providing me with a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

I Owe You One by Sophie Kinsella

Image result for i owe you one

Fixie Farr works in her family’s housewares store, picking up the slack from her siblings. One day, a stranger in a coffee shop asks her to watch his laptop, for which Sebastian, the computer’s owner, gives her an IOU scribbled on a coffee sleeve. Fixie doesn’t imagine she’ll every use the IOU, until her childhood crush, Ryan, moves back to England looking for a job. So begins a series of IOUs between Seb and Fixie.

This was such a fun read. All the characters are well-developed, and Fixie is an adorably quirky main character, who is very realistic and likable. You really get to see her grow and develop throughout the book. The first half of the book is a little slow to get going, but once you get the middle, the plot really advances. I loved the cute development of Fixie and Seb’s relationship. Overall, a really interesting read that kept me turning the pages.

I was provided with an e-galley of this book via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

Turtles All the Way Down

turtlesallthewaydowntransparentTurtles All the Way Down by John Green

Synopsis: Sixteen-year-old Aza never intended to pursue the mystery of fugitive billionaire Russell Pickett, but there’s a hundred-thousand-dollar reward at stake and her Best and Most Fearless Friend, Daisy, is eager to investigate. So together, they navigate the short distance and broad divides that separate them from Russell Pickett’s son, Davis.

Aza is trying. She is trying to be a good daughter, a good friend, a good student, and maybe even a good detective, while also living within the ever-tightening spiral of her own thoughts.

Review: Five out of five stars. This book was absolutely fantastic- one of my best reads of the year. I’ve been excited for this to come out for months, and I was so happy to finally get to read it. As a reader of all of the John Green books, I’d say it was his second best novel (after The Fault in Our Stars).

The plot was unique and fun and the characters were awesome. As a teenager myself, I felt like John Green was able to capture this stage of life well. The characters are so relatable. Aza, the main character has OCD, which I found was really interesting to read about. It was nice that Aza’s OCD didn’t let up and she didn’t get better, but that she was still a wonderful character.

Overall, Turtles All the Way Down was a fun, riveting, and very memorable read.

All the Bright Places

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Pages: 378

Synopsis: The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!
 
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

My Review:

“For what it’s worth, you showed me something– there is such a thing as a perfect day.”

Four out of five stars.

This was a great book. It was sad an beautiful and very emotional.

But anyways… I decided to read this book because it was associated with The Fault in Our Stars, which I loved, so I had high expectations for this book.

This book clearly represents what it’s like to be bullied and to have a mental illness.

I loved Finch’s character and I have to admit that I’ve grown attached to him. I also adored his and Violet’s interactions and their unique ideas. And their relationship was really cute.

No matter how devastating this book was, it was still a fun and incredible read. The author had a brilliant writing style. I also loved how the author made tackled a lot of delicate issues in this book. It was a story that entertains while teaching you something deep that changes you.

-Adeline

Wintergirls

Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson

Number of Pages: 278

Synopsis: “Dead girl walking”, the boys say in the halls.
“Tell us your secret”, the girls whisper, one toilet to another.
I am that girl.
I am the space between my thighs, daylight shining through.
I am the bones they want, wired on a porcelain frame.

Lia and Cassie are best friends, wintergirls frozen in matchstick bodies, competitors in a deadly contest to see who can be the skinniest. But what comes after size zero and size double-zero? When Cassie succumbs to the demons within, Lia feels she is being haunted by her friend’s restless spirit.

Laurie Halse Anderson explores Lia’s descent into the powerful vortex of anorexia, and her painful path toward recovery.

My Thoughts: Wow! This book was both heartbreaking and beautiful.

The writing in this book was incredible. Everything flowed together perfectly and it was more like reading a masterpiece than just reading a book. I’m extremely impressed with the way the author was able to capture all of Lia’s experiences with the perfect words, words that fit together so flawlessly it’s impossible for them to be described any other way.

Who are the Wintergirls? In this book, it refers to Lia and Cassie. Cassie is a girl who started battling bulimia at a very young age, and at the beginning of the book is found dead in a motel room. Lia is Cassie’s former best friend. Lia is currently battling anorexia, and has to deal with getting weighed weekly by her step mother, and also the guilt constantly in her mind knowing that Cassie had called her thirty five times the night that she died.

This was a haunting story that discussed, in detail, how it feels to have an eating disorder. Lea doesn’t really see food just as food. She sees, for example, an orange as “75” for the calories it contains. Wintergirls provides an in-depth look into eating disorders, and it does not hold back or sugar coat anything.

The emotional and physical aspects of both diseases are explored in such an amazing way. The parents’ concerns even come out in a way where you understand them, and not resent them as being simply annoying parents. Lia’s protests don’t make you feel like she is being a typical rebellious teen, either. We are inside her head hearing the inner monologue, and I found this fascinating to read about.

I also loved this author’s writing style. She used several tools such as the strike outs, repetitions and numbers.

This is a book I won’t soon forget.