All the Bright Places

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Pages: 378

Synopsis: The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!
 
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

My Review:

“For what it’s worth, you showed me something– there is such a thing as a perfect day.”

Four out of five stars.

This was a great book. It was sad an beautiful and very emotional.

But anyways… I decided to read this book because it was associated with The Fault in Our Stars, which I loved, so I had high expectations for this book.

This book clearly represents what it’s like to be bullied and to have a mental illness.

I loved Finch’s character and I have to admit that I’ve grown attached to him. I also adored his and Violet’s interactions and their unique ideas. And their relationship was really cute.

No matter how devastating this book was, it was still a fun and incredible read. The author had a brilliant writing style. I also loved how the author made tackled a lot of delicate issues in this book. It was a story that entertains while teaching you something deep that changes you.

-Adeline

Advertisements